Coffman Receives Inaugural ‘Spirit of America’ Award

Celebrates Bipartisanship and Cooperation

f t # e
Washington, July 26, 2018 | Daniel Bucheli (202-225-7882) | comments
 Rep. Jim Hines (D-CT), Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO), Former Sen. Simpson (R-WY) 
and University of Mount Union President, Dr. Richard Merriman  

Washington, D.C. –
 U.S. Representative Mike Coffman (R-CO) was recognized last night with the Inaugural ‘Spirit of America’ Award from the University of Mount Union, for his leadership in seeking bipartisan solutions in health care, veterans’ affairs, immigration reform and border security matters. Also recognized was Rep. Jim Himes (D-CT).

“I’m so honored to receive this recognition which only furthers my belief that when Members of Congress work across the aisle to improve the lives of our constituents, better and more effective results are achieved,” said Coffman.

The award was presented by former Senator Alan Simpson (R-WY). The Spirit of America Award honors the late Mount Union alumnus, Congressman Ralph Regula '48, by celebrating the values of bipartisanship and cooperation that he exemplified.

During his 36-year career in the U.S. House of Representatives, Regula was well-known for seeking bipartisan cooperation to achieve important legislative goals. The inaugural Spirit of America Awards were presented to Coffman and Himes for working in that same bipartisan spirit as demonstrated by their nominations.

“So often today it’s the more partisan voices that are recognized by their respective parties as being the champions,” shared Coffman upon receiving the award. “It is so nice to have an organization that represents those that are in the middle of trying to make things happen.”

f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations

  • Aurora District Office
    3300 S. Parker Road
    Cherry Creek Place IV Suite #305
    Aurora, CO 80014
    Phone: 720.748.7514
    Fax: 720.748.7680
    Hours: M-F 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Meetings By Appointment Only
  • Washington, DC Office
    2443 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: 202.225.7882
    Fax: 202.226.4623
    Hours: M-F 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM