Coffman Receives Award from Security Industry Association

f t # e
Washington, June 29, 2017 | comments

2017 Legislator of the Year Award

Washington, D.C.---
U.S. Representative Mike Coffman (CO-06) today was awarded the Security Industry Associations (SIA) 2017 Legislator of the Year Award for on his work and support during the 115th Congress on issues critical to the security industry in the United States. SIA recognized Coffman’s leadership and support on H.R. 1636, the ‘School Safety Act’, which is aimed at preventing school violence and improving emergency response measures.

I’m so honored to receive this award in recognition of my leadership in working to make our schools a safer place for our children” said Coffman.  

Jake Parker, SIA Director of Government Relations added “Rep. Mike Coffman has continued to demonstrate extraordinary leadership in fighting for school safety funding, a top priority for SIA in recent years. SIA will continue to serve as a resource for these outstanding leaders as we continue to work together to maintain and increase the safety and security of our country.”

The School Safety Act would help pay for improved school security initiatives, such as training for staff and students, deterrents like lighting and locks and improved police notification and response technologies.

SIA is an international, non-profit trade association representing more than 700 member companies that develop, manufacturer and integrate security technology and life safety products, including more than 400,000 security leaders and experts.


f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations

  • Aurora District Office
    3300 S. Parker Road
    Cherry Creek Place IV Suite #305
    Aurora, CO 80014
    Phone: 720.748.7514
    Fax: 720.748.7680
    Hours: M-F 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Meetings By Appointment Only
  • Washington, DC Office
    2443 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: 202.225.7882
    Fax: 202.226.4623
    Hours: M-F 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM