Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Representative Mike Coffman

Representing the 6th District of COLORADO

Senators urge FERC to support Jordan Cove LNG

Jan 13, 2015
In The News

LNG Industry

US Senator John Barrasso and 13 other lawmakers from Colorado, Utah and Wyoming, have called on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to support the Jordan Cove LNG export project.

The group has asked that the FERC complete the final environmental impact statement (EIS) for the project as soon as possible.

In a letter to FERC Chairman, Cheryl LaFleur, the group expressed support for the LNG export facility at Jordan Cove in southwest Oregon. The Jordan Cove LNG export project would give Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming and Indian Tribes, such as the Ute Indian Tribe on the Uintah and Ouray Reservation, the opportunity to export natural gas to overseas markets.

The lawmakers explain how Jordan Cove is currently the only LNG export project that would allow natural gas shipped from these communities to reach overseas markets.

An extract from the letter reads: “As FERC’s draft EIS notes, the Jordan Cove Project is the only proposed LNG export facility that would provide Rocky Mountain communities the opportunity to access overseas markets. Specifically, it would allow gas shipped on the Ruby pipeline - as well as gas shipped on the Gas Transmission Northwest pipeline - to be exported to overseas markets.

“Overseas markets would give producers an alternative to markets here in the United States, Canada, or Mexico. FERC has already given eastern and Gulf coast states the opportunity to access overseas markets. We believe it should give Rocky Mountain states and Indian tribes the same opportunity,” the lawmakers wrote.

The following members of the Senate signed onto the letter: Senators John Barrasso, Cory Gardner, Mike Enzi, Orrin Hatch, and Mike Lee.

The following members of the House of Representatives, led by Cynthia Lummis, signed onto the letter: Representatives Scott Tipton, Doug Lamborn, Mike Coffman, Rob Bishop, Chris Stewart, Jason Chaffetz, Ken Buck, and Mia Love.